Dádìsì Speaks

FOR THE BOOKSHELF: Black Men: Obsolete, Single, Dangerous?

In About Me, Authors, Culture on 12/06/2012 at 19:30

Today I was friended on facebook by Haki Madhubuti formerly know as Don Lee.  When I posted on facebook that he accepted my friend request, I also indicated what a profound impact his poetry, prose, lectures and publishing company Third World Press had on me and many in my generations.

His writing is so prolific that it’s difficult to name one piece that is my favourite.  But when it comes to his works of prose I would have to say that this book, BLACK MEN: Obsolete, Single, Dangerous? had the most impact on me.  I typically reread it every two to three years or so just to see how apropos it is with contemporary times.

Suffice it to say, the book never gets old and unfortunately much of what he wrote 22 years ago remains relevant today.  I’d just like to take this time to suggest his works with all who read this blog.  Especially this book.

This is from his appearance on Def Poetry Jam:

I end by saying, thank you Brother Haki Madhubuti for the legacy of work he has left our world.  Thank you good sir.

Leave a Reply

